top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoanne Baker

Act of Confidence

When our inner peace is disturbed, it is a big indicator that we are not relying enough on our Lord.


To renew our confidence, here is a powerful prayer by St. Claude de la Colombiere. (He was the spiritual director of St. Margaret Mary, mystic who received the devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus.)


Click on his image below to see the whole prayer.

My favorite line:

I know that my confidence cannot exceed Your generosity, and that I shall never receive less than I have hoped for from You.

I love to pray this whenever I realize that I have slid back into relying on myself again (and hugely failing, of course.) It helps me to remember my utter dependence on my Savior, who died for us "while we were yet sinners." (Rom 5:8) With St. Therese I want to go to Christ Jesus with empty hands, relying entirely on His mercy.


In the evening of life I shall appear before you with empty hands, for I am not asking you, Lord, to count my works.

My abbreviated version for daily prayer:


Let others put trust in themselves,

Too well my weakness I see.

My hope is in Thee alone,

Never wouldst Thou fail me.

My Jesus, I trust in Thee!


JMJ+

Joanne

69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page