top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoanne Baker

My Saint Turns 750








Mar 7, 2024 was the 750th anniversary of St. Thomas Aquinas' death and entrance into eternal life. I really like this post that John Mortensen at Aquinas Institute wrote about St. Thomas for the occasion. Here's the part that particularly resonated with me:







Because Thomas had one thing in his heart, he had the intuition that comes with being in love, and through his study he was constantly piling logs onto this bonfire in his heart. Like a little child, he would chat with the people involved in the things he was studying. He asked St. Paul for answers to the hard questions while he was writing his commentary on Romans. He chatted with the Lord himself when writing about his Incarnation. Thomas had child-like personal relationships with the saints, and a particular devotion to St. Nicholas. It was in the chapel of St. Nicholas, in fact, that the Lord asked him what he wanted, and that he answered “Only you, Lord.” ...Reginald said that Thomas’s last confession was like that of a 5 year-old boy. It seems that the trajectory of our lives is not to become bigger and better, but simpler and smaller.

What an awesome thought, Mr. Mortensen!


It's pretty cool that perhaps the greatest mind in history after Christ and our Lady was nevertheless so spiritually child-like.


And then there's this part, too:

Most people, however, treat the saints like vending machines...We think that we are the active ones, and that the saints will follow along if we can convince them to. Our real relationship to the saints, however, is very much the other way around. Before we are born they single us out.

Can you guess which saint I'm thinking has singled me out?


In high school I used the Summa to write papers. My undergrad thesis was on St. Thomas' doctrine of predestination. I fell in love with my husband because he was able to discuss St. Thomas' works intelligently with me. We led a study group on the Summa off and on throughout our marriage. My blog is dedicated to St. Thomas. And finally... drum roll, please... we named our first child Thomas Aquinas!


I love you, St. Thomas. Happy anniversary. I am so indebted to you - thank you!!


St Thomas Aquinas, ora pro nobis.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page